top of page

Close My Eyes


Close my eyes

breathing in the 2am

quiet empty space tastes of safety

lain under cover

flat backed waiting for mental assembly

repairing the fragments of the day

that stream either side of my heart

Close my eyes

breathing in the 2am

mind racing away from this day

Stillness arms outstretched

palms face down demanding a silence

only acceptance may bring

one day but not quite not quite yet

Close my eyes

breathing in the 2am

waiting for the dinosaurs to parade

against the twilight innocence

Longing to lay stars in sight

Waiting with the patterns of nite talk

click click clicking on my mind

Close my eyes

breathing in the 2am

running the day thru multi-facet filters

did I make it clear did I make it?

Wondering will I dream or fight

Or may I master a humane act of flight

And leave on clean unfeathered wings

Close my eyes

breathing in the 2am

Wishing for an absence of morning

Only to live the same pain again

this time the wall is breached

Filled with unleashed dogs of more

Shored with hope & others words

Close my eyes

breathing in the 2am

Armed with chit chat I distract memory's

open myself to the now expectant daylight

Which predictable rushes near in timed respite

unlike my sleep playing with atonal rhythms

I drift away as subtle as a tide slips to ebb


Written for Flow Unlocked, 14th October 2020


bottom of page